4.1 magnitude earthquake 37 km from Cap-Chat, Quebec, Canada

2015-01-16 13:05:28 UTC

UTC time: Friday, January 16, 2015 13:05 PM
Your time: 2015-01-16T13:05:28Z
Magnitude Type: mb
USGS status: Reviewed by a seismologist
Reports from the public: 3 people


A
2015-01-16 13:05:28 UTC 4.1 magnitude, 18 km depth
Cap-Chat, Quebec, Canada

4.1 magnitude earthquake

2015-01-16 13:05:28 UTC at 13:05
January 16, 2015 UTC

Location:
Epicenter at 49.43, -66.795
37.2 km from Cap-Chat (23.2 miles)

Gaspe Peninsula, Canada

Depth: 18 km




Tsunami advisory issued by www.tsunami.gov

000 SEXX60 PAAQ 161310 EQIAT1 TSUNAMI SEISMIC INFORMATION STATEMENT NWS NATIONAL TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER PALMER AK 810 AM EST FRI JAN 16 2015 ...THIS IS A TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT... EVALUATION ---------- * AN EARTHQUAKE HAS OCCURRED - THERE IS NO TSUNAMI DANGER. PRELIMINARY EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS --------------------------------- * MAGNITUDE 4.0 * ORIGIN TIME 0805 EST JAN 16 2015 0705 CST JAN 16 2015 0905 AST JAN 16 2015 1305 UTC JAN 16 2015 * COORDINATES 49.4 NORTH 66.8 WEST * DEPTH 7 MILES * LOCATION 55 MILES SW OF SEPT-ILES QUEBEC 335 MILES NE OF BANGOR MAINE NEXT UPDATE AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION -------------------------------------- * THIS WILL BE THE ONLY U.S. NATIONAL TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER MESSAGE ISSUED FOR THIS EVENT. * THE EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS ARE BASED ON PRELIMINARY INFORMATION. * FURTHER INFORMATION WILL BE ISSUED BY THE UNITED STATES GEOLOGICAL SURVEY - EARTHQUAKE.USGS.GOV - OR THE APPROPRIATE REGIONAL SEISMIC NETWORK.