5.0 magnitude earthquake 43 km from Gustavia, Saint Barthelemy

2014-04-19 19:31:34 UTC

UTC time: Saturday, April 19, 2014 19:31 PM
Your time: 2014-04-19T19:31:34Z
Magnitude Type: mwr
USGS status: Reviewed by a seismologist
Reports from the public: 3 people


A

5.0 magnitude earthquake

2014-04-19 19:31:34 UTC at 19:31
April 19, 2014 UTC

Location:
Epicenter at 17.992, -62.448
43.2 km from Gustavia (27.2 miles)

St. Martin, Leeward Island

Depth: 53 km

Aftershocks:
B

4.0 magnitude earthquake

2014-04-22 05:55:50 UTC at 05:55
April 22, 2014 UTC

Location:
Epicenter at 17.463, -62.537
24.2 km from Cayon (15.2 miles)

North Atlantic Ocean

Depth: 115 km


Tsunami advisory issued by www.tsunami.gov

000 SEXX60 PAAQ 191934 EQIAT1 TSUNAMI SEISMIC INFORMATION STATEMENT NWS NATIONAL TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER PALMER AK 334 PM AST SAT APR 19 2014 ...THIS IS A TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT... EVALUATION ---------- * AN EARTHQUAKE HAS OCCURRED - THERE IS NO TSUNAMI DANGER. PRELIMINARY EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS --------------------------------- * MAGNITUDE 5.2 * ORIGIN TIME 1532 EDT APR 19 2014 1532 AST APR 19 2014 1432 CDT APR 19 2014 1932 UTC APR 19 2014 * COORDINATES 18.3 NORTH 62.5 WEST * DEPTH 28 MILES * LOCATION 120 MILES SE OF SETTLEMENT BR. VIRGIN IS. 235 MILES E OF SAN JUAN PUERTO RICO NEXT UPDATE AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION -------------------------------------- * THIS WILL BE THE ONLY U.S. NATIONAL TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER MESSAGE ISSUED FOR THIS EVENT. * THE EARTHQUAKE PARAMETERS ARE BASED ON PRELIMINARY INFORMATION. * FURTHER INFORMATION WILL BE ISSUED BY THE UNITED STATES GEOLOGICAL SURVEY - EARTHQUAKE.USGS.GOV - OR THE APPROPRIATE REGIONAL SEISMIC NETWORK.